The home of architecture and design in Asia-Pacific

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Last Month to Enter the 2017 Staron Design Awards!

Entries for the 2017 Staron® Design Awards close September 30! So designers, architects, developers and students alike, get to it!

  • Commercial Staron Design Award winning design 2016 by: Maria + Al Tsudon, THETSU

  • Residential Staron Design Award winning design 2016 by: iredale pedersen hook architects. Photography by: Peter Bennetts.

  • Concept Staron Design Award winning design 2016 by: Anna Lines.

The Staron® brand is about more than just their renowned Solid Surfaces material – the annual Staron® Design Awards, now in its ninth year, is a huge part of the architectural and design calendar. The Staron® Design Awards are open to any designer, architect, developer, kitchen/bathroom designer, student or any other designer who has created a design project that incorporates Staron® Solid Surfaces. The design awards have been designed to create exposure for students, designers and architects using Staron® in outstanding design.

The design versatility made possible by using Staron® is extensive, which makes for a varied and exciting competition in the awards. Across the globe, from small refits to large-scale projects by some of the world’s leading designers and architects, Staron Solid Surfaces have been put to great use.

The aim of the awards is to recognize and celebrate beautiful design from all levels – showcasing the breadth of design from a young designer’s passionate vision, up to experienced designers and architects who might have been in the business for years.

The program is open in three categories…

The Commercial category: Open to any installed commercial / industrial project with a prize of $2000

The Residential category: Open to any installed house / apartment project with a prize of $1000

The Concept category: Open to any idea or concept that has not been realised yet. This can be a drawing, graphic or sketch, with a prize of $250

These prizes all come with a suite of generous marketing exposure for the winners.

The Staron® Design Award judges panel includes our own Indesign editor Sophia Watson, Stephen Varady from Stephen Varady Associates, and Amanda Stanaway from Woods Bagot. Each judge has a wide and varied background of experience that brings a vast wealth of knowledge to the judging process.

The Staron® Design Awards 2017 are open for entries until September 30! Entry to the Staron® Design Awards are free and easy and can be made online at – so it’s time to get cracking!

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed