The home of architecture and design in Asia-Pacific

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

All the winners from the 2023 NSW Architecture Prizes

Fellows, Life fellows, President’s Prize and more – this year’s Australian Institute of Architects New South Wales Chapter Prizes and Honours Awards have been announced.

All the winners from the 2023 NSW Architecture Prizes

Reconciliation and the engagement of architecture with Country have emerged as some of the dominant themes at the 2023 NSW Architecture Prizes. 30 different individuals and organisations have been recognised this year, with notable recognition for contributions to education too.

The President’s Prize went to the NSW Land & Housing Corporation and Blacktown City Council for their efforts on housing and community development. At Bigge Street Apartments, the NSW Land & Housing Corporation was recognised for its procurement of high-quality social housing.

Bigge Street Apartments, photograph by Brett Boardman.

“While housing itself is the priority, well-designed housing that is fit for purpose, reduces running costs, increases individuals’ sense of health and wellbeing, and is robust and future proofed, are all important contributing factors to delivering value to the people of New South Wales,” says Adam Haddow, AIA NSW chapter president.

Haddow also comments on the centrality of Indigenous perspectives: “We believe that our efforts as a profession and community to engage with and consider First Nations stories and perspectives is critical to the betterment of society and our collective culture.”

Gujaga Foundation.

Three Prizes for Reconciliation were awarded to the La Perouse Aboriginal Community social enterprise Gujaga Foundation, the Heritage NSW and Heritage Council of NSW, and architect and educator Dr Michael Mossman.

Dr Michael Mossman.

Dr Mossman is associate dean Indigenous at the University of Sydney, where he works alongside the winner of the Marion Mahony Griffin Prize. Catherine Lassen is a senior lecturer at the University of Sydney and has been recognised for her inspirational career as a practitioner, academic and mentor.

Related: Lacaton & Vassal in Sydney

Catherine Lassen.

Elsewhere, The David Lindner Prize for graduate and emerging architects was awarded to Isabella Reynolds for her proposal to research the invisible experiences of people living with chronic pain and disease, and how the built environment should address this.

Isabella Reynolds.

The Christopher Procter Prize, also for an emerging architect, went to Andrea Lam for her project to reinvigorate Australian urban Chinatowns through a study trip to San Francisco, home to one of the oldest and largest in the western world.

Fellowship is awarded to individuals who have demonstrated a significant contribution to the architecture profession beyond architecture practice, while Life Fellowship – the highest honour class of RAIA membership available to members practising architecture – is reserved for members who, in the opinion of the National Council, have made notable contribution to the advancement of the profession in areas including design, construction, literature, education and public service.

The full list of Life Fellows in 2023 is Laura Cockburn, Bridget Smyth, Ingrid Pearson, Mark Jones, Prof Lindsay Johnston AM and Dr Deo Prasad AO. New Fellows are Andrew Duffin, Cherry Parsons, Brent Dunn, Elisabeth Peet, Duncan Sanby, Kirstin Utz, Jason Elsley, Sophie Solomon, John de Manincor, Gabrielle Pelletier, Niall Macken, Jacqueline Urford, Phillip Arnold, Sandra Stewart and Wesley Hindmarch.

AIA NSW Chapter

Relive the 2023 INDE.Awards Gala from the Art Gallery NSW here!

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed