The home of architecture and design in Asia-Pacific

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Finalists shortlisted for NGV and Stylecraft’s Australian Furniture Design Award

Five finalists will compete for the fifth iteration of the award, complete with $20,000 cash prize and presented by the NGV and Stylecraft.

Finalists shortlisted for NGV and Stylecraft’s Australian Furniture Design Award

Ashley Eriksmoen, 'The Dream, or: the view from here is both bleak and resplendent', 2022, image courtesy the artist (the NGV gratefully acknowledges Esther Frenkiel OAM and David Frenkiel in supporting work by Ashley Eriksmoen in NGV Triennial).

The biennial Australian Furniture Design Award by the NGV and Stylecraft is all about celebrating the most interesting, innovative furniture and lighting design in contemporary Australia. The organisers are considering a wide-ranging set of criteria: the recognition of outstanding new design ideas, critical and creative thinking, sustainability, material development, and research that explores innovative production processes. 

This year’s shortlisted finalists have been named as Bala Ga’ Lili (Bonhula Yunupingu and Damien Wright), Marta Figueiredo, Michael Gittings, Nae Tanakorn, and supermanoeuvre + Tomkins Design. The competition’s call for entries closed on 18 October 2023. From the entries received, with these five candidates selected by the jury to proceed to Stage Two of the design competition.

Elliat Rich, ‘Standing place’ from the ‘Other places’ series 2017, Australian Furniture Design Award Winner 2017, NGV, image courtesy of the artist.

“For 70 years, Stylecraft has been guided by the principle of active collaboration with the global and Australian design community,” says Anthony Collins, Stylecraft CEO. “The Australian Furniture Design Award is unique in the national design landscape for its combination of recognition, professional development, financial support and very importantly, a commercial opportunity for an Australian designer. We are excited to build upon the legacy of this important award, founded by Stylecraft and the JamFactory, in 2015.”

The five finalists will be invited to present their realised designs for exhibition and judging at the Stylecraft showroom during Melbourne Design Week 2024. With a cash prize $20,000 and an invitation to develop a commercial range or product with Stylecraft on the line, the stakes – and the standards – are high.

Related: Celebrating Stylecraft’s 70th birthday

James Walsh, ‘Anthropic Bench’, 2020, image courtesy of James Walsh.

Meanwhile, the 2024 jury is made up of Ewan McEoin, Senior Curator, Contemporary Art, Design and Architecture at the NGV (Chair); Tony Russell, Brand Director at Stylecraft, Melbourne; Anne-Claire Petre, Founder Anaca Studio, Melbourne; Hamish Guthrie co-director Hecker Guthrie, Melbourne, and Elliat Rich, Alice Springs-based designer and 2017 AFDA winner. Competition advisor 2024 is Simone LeAmon, Curator, Contemporary Design and Architecture, NGV.

Tony Ellwood AM, Director NGV, adds: “The Australian Furniture Design Award presents an invaluable platform for local furniture and lighting designers to showcase their extraordinary work. This Award celebrates the incredible creativity and innovation empowering this design discipline, as well as its contribution to design discourse and Australian culture.”



We think you might also like this Q&A with Sydney-based designer, Kathy Arnold.

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed