A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

The RIBA International Prize celebrates the best in design

The Royal Institute of British Architects has launched a new design award, the RIBA International Prize, which honours the world’s best new building

The RIBA International Prize celebrates the best in design


December 28th, 2015

Launching in the twentieth anniversary year of the esteemed UK Stirling Prize, the RIBA International Prize is the largest accolade in the firm’s annual awards portfolio, which was established to celebrate architectural excellence across the globe.

Open to any qualified architect in the world, the RIBA International Prize will be awarded to a building that demonstrates innovative and visionary design, as well as delivers a positive social impact. The winner will be chosen by a Grand Jury led by Richard Rogers and including Kunlé Adeyemi, and Philip Gumuchdjian.

Chair of the Grand Jury, Richard Rogers welcomed the inclusion of the new prize into the institute’s ranks, “I’m delighted to lead the jury for the inaugural RIBA International Prize, and look forward to discovering how architecture is reacting to and resolving issues posed by the changing demands of a global community. We look forward to establishing the RIBA International Prize as a new standard by which to assess and promote design excellence on a global scale.”

The inaugural award will be given in London in December 2016.

Royal Institute of British Architects


INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed