The home of architecture and design in Asia-Pacific

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

INDE.Awards Return in 2018 with New Categories. Enter Now!

Design and architecture in Asia Pacific are progressing in response to the region’s needs. So are the INDE.Awards in 2018!

INDE.Awards Return in 2018 with New Categories. Enter Now!

INDE.Awards 2017 Pre-Ceremony at Carriageworks, Sydney. Photography: Tim Da Rin

After a successful inaugural edition with over 400 entries from 14 countries across the Asia Pacific region (recap all the action from the INDE.Awards 2017 in our review), the INDE.Awards are growing in scope with the addition of awards for The Multi-Residential Building, The Shopping Space, The Learning Space, and The Wellness Space.

The new categories address sectors of design with significant and increasing relevance to the Asia Pacific region, enhancing the strength of the INDE.Awards as a barometer of progressive design around APAC.

APAC is living more densely

The Multi-Residential Building category acknowledges the rapid urban growth happening in APAC cities and the need for dense residential developments that cater to human experience as well as market drivers.

We’re shopping in different ways

This year, retail design has been given its own dedicated category with The Shopping Space award, which caters to the shifting ground being seen in the retail sector all around the region. The introduction of The Shopping Space category allows The Social Space category (which will continue from 2017) to focus purely on hospitality/F&B design, which has its own particular set of design currents.

How we learn matters

The Learning Space category pays homage to the progressive work being done regionally in design for education. Approaches to education itself are varied across the region, but leading design work is emerging that is thoroughly worthy of celebration.

There are new ways to wellness

As populations age and lifestyles change around APAC, health and wellness are becoming more critical. The Wellness Space category acknowledges how the spaces in which we seek health and wellness services are changing for the benefit of human experience, and responding to the emergence of new healthcare technologies.

Above: Alice Blackwood, Co-Editor, Indesign magazine (left) and Raj Nandan, CEO, Indesign Media (right) at the INDE.Awards 2017 Gala Ceremony, Carriageworks, Sydney. Photography: Tim Da Rin

Here’s the full list of award categories for 2018:

  • The Building
  • The Multi-Residential Building
  • The Living Space
  • The Work Space
  • The Social Space
  • The Shopping Space
  • The Learning Space
  • The Wellness Space
  • The Design Studio
  • The Influencer
  • The Object
  • Launch Pad
  • The Prodigy (People’s Choice)
  • The Luminary (People’s Choice)

Entries for the INDE.Awards 2018 are now open!

Head to for more details, and to view the category criteria.

Stay tuned for more INDEs news, including details of the 2018 gala – which will be held in Singapore!

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed