A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Enter the Staron® Design Awards 2015

Don’t miss your chance to win the 2015 Staron® Design Awards! Entries close September 30, so be quick.

Enter the Staron® Design Awards 2015


August 31st, 2015

Samsung are the creators of Staron® Solid Surfaces – a quality surfaces material that is a leading product in the solid surface industry. The design versatility made possible by using Straon® is extensive, and we have seen some simple, creative and complex designs using the product nationally and internationally. Staron® has been used across the globe from small to large projects by some of the world’s leading designers and architects. To celebrate this design versatility, the Staron® Design Awards was created seven years ago, and the program has returned again in 2015.

The Staron® Design Awards are open to any designer, architect, developer, kitchen/bathroom designer, student or any other designer who has created a design project using Staron® Solid Surfaces. The design awards have been designed to create exposure for students, designers and architects using Staron® in outstanding design. The aim is to recognize and celebrate beautiful design at all levels – from a young designer’s vision, who creates concepts and ideas all the way through to an experienced designer / architect who has been in the business for years. The program is open in three categories across 2015.


Staron Design Award Judges

The Commercial category is open to any installed commercial / industrial project with a prize of $2000 cash plus marketing exposure for the winner. The Residential category is open to any installed house / apartment project with a prize of $1000 plus marketing exposure for the winner. The Concept category is open to any idea or concept that has not been realised yet. This can be a drawing, graphic or sketch, with a prize of $250 plus marketing exposure.

The Staron® Design Award judges panel includes [pictured left to right] Nicky Lobo from Habitus Magazine, Stephen Varady from Stephen Varady Associates and Amanda Stanaway from Woods Bagot. Each judge has a wide and varied background of experience that brings a vast wealth of knowledge to the judging process. The judges meet in Sydney when the Staron® Design Awards close to decide on a winner for each category.

The Staron® Design Awards 2015 are open for entries until September 30. Entry to the Staron® Design Awards are free and easy and can be made online.

Staron® Solid Surfaces


Past Commercial Winning Design by Gmd Architectural Joinery, Holly Rickard for Watson Young Architects

Hero Image: Past Residential winning design by: Eliza Rudkin, Lane Walker Rudkin

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed