A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Queensland Architecture Awards 2010

Regional architecture dominates the Queensland Architecture Institute Awards.

Queensland Architecture Awards 2010


June 22nd, 2010

The Awards might have been announced in Brisbane this year, but it wasn’t Queensland’s capital that scooped the majority of the top prizes as seen across other states.
Awards Jury Director Bud Brannigan said projects outside Brisbane, and from regions across Queensland, claimed 26 of this year’s 47 awards and commendations.
Seven of the State’s 10 best new public architecture projects and four of the State’s six best new urban design projects went to regional projects.
 “It’s commendable to see such a high proportion of projects entered into the public architecture category across the State, a trend which reflects the growing confidence of government organisations and regional councils in working with architects on key projects,”  Mr Brannigan said.
This year’s top public architecture winner was the F.D.G Stanley Award for Public Architecture, which went to the Ipswich Justice Precinct (pictured above) by Cox Rayner Architects with ABM Architects.

It also received this year’s Art and Architecture Prize and the G.H.M. Addison Award for Interior Architecture.

Australian Institute of Architects


For the full list visit the AIA website.

Don Roderick Award for Heritage
Old Government House Conservation and Adaptation by Conrad Gargett Architecture

Beatrice Hutton Award for Commercial Architecture
Santos Place by Donovan Hill

z house robin dods award

Robin Dods Award for Residential Architecture – Houses

Z House, Brisbane by Donovan Hill (Photography by Jon Linkins)
Job & Froud Award for Residential Architecture
Seaspray Resort and Spa, Zilzie (Central Queensland), by Donovan Hill

Harry S. Marks Award for Sustainable Architecture

The Willawong Bus Depot by City Design

peregian community house

State Commendation – Public Architecture
Peregian Beach Community House, by Sparks Architects

State Commendation – Residential Architecture – Houses
Point Perry Beach House, by Owen and Vokes

balmoral residence

Hayes and Scott Award for Small Project Architecture
Balmoral Residence, by Keiron Gait Architects
25 Year Award for Enduring Architecture
The Queensland Performing Arts Centre by Robin Gibson & Partners
The Karl Langer Award for Urban Design
Kurilpa Bridge by Cox Rayner Architects
Four regional urban design projects for The Karl Langer Award, and one from Brisbane, were also honoured – ranging from a railway station on the Sunshine Coast to railway yards in North Queensland, a marina and esplanade in far north Queensland and parklands on the Gold Coast.

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed