A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Putting the Future to Work

The winners of the Iken Awards 2008 have been announced in Sydney.

Putting the Future to Work


August 27th, 2008

Four Australian designers have taken out the top awards in the 2008 Workstation of the Future design competition.

The Awards Night, attended by over 200 members of the design community, featured an exhibition of 60 short-listed entries and the launch of Iken’s new workstation.

Glenn Bevan (for the INFINITY DESIGN WORKSTATION) and Lorrin Windahl (for ERUG) both took out the major prize in the Australian Professional Innovation Category, winning a 10-day trip to Europe, The Netherlands and Japan and Orgatec 08 in Cologne.

Iken received over 135 local and international entries to this year’s competition. Of those short-listed six received the winning prize for their category with seven earning a ‘highly commended’ award.

“Designing a workstation for the future is a very challenging undertaking,” says judge, Brandon Gien (General Manager, Design and Communications, Standards Australia & Executive Director, Australian International Design Awards)

“The entries this year not only met the challenging brief set by Iken, but went above and beyond it – making the job of judging all that more interesting and challenging.”



PROFESSIONAL INNOVATION Glenn Bevan – Infinity Design Development (QLD)
PROFESSIONAL INNOVATION Lorrin Windahl – Cobalt Niche (VIC)

STUDENT INNOVATION Ferry Tantono – University of Technology Sydney (NSW)
STUDENT SUSTAINABILITY Liam Mugavin – University of South Australia (SA)


INT. PROFESSIONAL Diego Zavala Figueroa – Elemental Studio Design (Mexico)
INT. STUDENT Carsten Oster Nielsen – Aalborg University (Denmark)

Highly commended –


STUDENT INNOVATION Paul Conley – University of Technology Sydney (NSW)
STUDENT SUSTAINABILITY Serena Holloway – Griffith University (QLD)


PROFESSIONAL Jessica Lamb & Britney Bishop – Lyall Design Architects
STUDENTS Alan Lu – University of California Berkeley
Monica Undarsa – Universitas Pelita Harapan
Martin Necas – Aalborg University
Kristian Villadsen – Aalborg University


For more info visit the Iken website. Or visit our galleries for the awards night action.

Hero Image – Glenn Bevan



Lorrin Windahl


Carsten Oster Nielsen


Paul Conley


Monica Undarsa



Liam Mugavin



Alan Lu



Diego Zavala Figueroa


INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed