The home of architecture and design in Asia-Pacific

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

President’s Design Award 2015: The Results

3 Designers and 13 Designs have been honoured at this year’s prestigious President’s Design Award.

President’s Design Award 2015: The Results

Top image – Design of the Year: National Gallery Singapore. Photo © Fernando Javier Urquijo / studioMilou Singapore

The President’s Design Award – arguably Singapore’s most prestigious award for design across all creative disciplines – has named its winners for 2015.

They include Air + Smart Mask, the world’s first innovative face mask with micro ventilators that circulate fresh air, thereby allowing users to breathe better; Pour, an artisanal side-table made without the use of a mould; The Oliv, a condominium with dramatic green sky terraces that provide exclusivity and privacy; and National Gallery Singapore, in which the former City Hall and Supreme Court buildings were transformed into a world-class art gallery.

Design of the Year: The Oliv. Photo © Edward Hendricks

Design of the Year: Air + Smart Mask and Micro-Ventilator. Photo © STUCK, Teck Photo, Afzal & Haikal

Design of the Year: Pour. Photo © Hans Tan

The three lauded Designers of the Year are two accredited landscape architects, namely Dr Colin K. Okashimo of Colin K Okashimo and Associates, and Franklin Po Sui Seng, Principal of Tierra Design, and architect Siew Man Kok, Chairman and Founding Director of MKPL Architects (watch for our interview with Siew Man Kok, out soon).

Left to right: Designers of the Year – Dr Colin K. Okashimo, Franklin Po Sui Seng and Siew Man Kok

A total of 111 eligible nominations were accessed by a 14-member jury from seven countries, including Singapore.

Design of the Year: Deck – People, Place Photography. Photo © Daniel Swee

Design of the Year: Architect’s Office at Kim Yam Road. Photo © Edward Hendricks

An exhibition of the President’s Design Award 2015 will be held at the National Gallery Singapore from 14 December 2015 to 3 January 2016, the URA Centre from 5 to 31 January 2016 and at the National Design Centre from 2 to 29 February 2016. Admission is free.

Design of the Year. The Caterpillar’s Cove Child Development and Study Centre. Photo © Darren Soh

Design of the Year. Fugue 1, 3, 5, 7 – Archifest Pavilion 2014. Photo © HCF and Associates

Design of the Year. Library @ Orchard. Photo © National Library Board

Design of the Year: Sunray Woodcraft Construction Headquarters. Photo © DP Architects

Design of the Year: Prologue Collection. Photo © Jessica Wong (Oats Studio)

Design of the Year: Dita, The Answer Earphones. Photo © Dita

Design of the Year: Rubbish FAMzine Series. Photo © John Nursalim (VisualMind)

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed