A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

AIA Awards NSW’s Best

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the NSW Architecture Awards, with BVN Architecture and Tonkin Zulaikha Greer taking out top honours.

AIA Awards NSW’s Best


July 8th, 2011

NSW’s top projects of the year were awarded on 1 July by the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA). The Sulman Award for Public Architecture went to BVN Architecture for their BMRI Youth Mental Health Building (pictured above), described by the jury as a “standout project… uniting patients, carers, clinicians and scientists working in the fields of neuroscience and mental health, in a refreshingly engaging off-campus facility.”

BVN also took out the John Verge Award for Interior Architecture for their new studio fit-out.


Tonkin Zulaikha Greer’s National Centre of Indigenous Excellence, located in inner-city Redfern, was awarded the Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design.


The jury commended the project for providing “an important community hub for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal users alike” with its “naturally-ventilated sports hall, gymnasium, weights room, kiosk and adjacent 25-metre swimming pool, all of which are accessible by the general public at all times.”


The Sir Arthur G Stephenson Award for Commercial Architecture went to 420 George Street by Bates Smart, “a fine addition to the city” and “an intelligent and well executed response to a complex site and program,” said the jury.


The states’ major residential award, the Wilkinson Award for Residential Architecture, went to mck architects for DPR House – “a bold, energetic and exemplary work” that “demonstrates how planning constraints can contribute to the shaping of the process, which results in a bold approach to design.”



Garden House by Durbach Block Jaggers, Skylight House by Chenchow Little Architects, Castlecrag House by Neeson Murcutt Architects and Small House by Domenic Alvaro all took out major residential awards on the night.

Other accolades awarded on the night included:

Aaron Bolot Award for Multiple Housing – Waterloo Street by Candalepas Associates
Milo Dunphy Award for Sustainable Architecture – Elamang Ave by Luigi Rosselli Architects
Enduring Architecture Award – Magney House at Bingie Bingie by Glenn Murcutt
Greenway Award for Heritage – St James Church, recent work by Design 5 – Architects Pty Ltd
Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture – The Hangar at Cessnock Airport by Peter Stutchbury Architecture
Blacket Prize for Regional Architecture – Hall and Library at St Joseph’s Primary, Wingham, by Austin McFarland Architects
2011 President’s Prize – NSW Government Architect Peter Mould
Emerging Architects Prize – Matt Chan
Marion Mahony Griffin Prize – Caroline Pidcock

Australian Institute of Architects

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed