A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Shanghai Designer Wins Woolmark Prize

An initiative of Australian Wool Innovation (AWI), the Prestigious Woolmark Prize, has been won by young Shanghai Fashion Designer, Qiu Hao.

Shanghai Designer Wins Woolmark Prize


July 30th, 2008

International designer, Sonia Rykiel, Patron of The Woolmark Prize, announced on July 4th that Qiu Hao from China will now join design greats Karl Lagerfeld, Yves Saint Laurent, Donna Karan, Ralph Lauren, Romeo Gigli, Dolce & Gabbana and Giorgio Armani in the Woolmark hall of fame, as the 2008 winner of the inaugural Woolmark Prize.

"It is with great pleasure that Australian Wool Innovation (AWI) once again bring the honour and prestige of such an international prize to assist emerging talent so that they may occupy a solid place in the global apparel industry," said Mr Craig Welsh, C.E.O. Australian Wool Innovation.

"We see the Woolmark Prize as an opportunity to support the future of design and at the same time, showcase to the world Australian Merino wool at its best and most innovative," said Mr Welsh.

Before attending Central Saint Martins College, London, 30 year old Shanghai designer Qiu Hao graduated in interior design at Suzhou University. Since his 2006 debut, Qiu Hao has consistently supplied razor sharp tailoring and smooth deconstruction in a largely monochromatic colour palette.

As the winner of the 2008 prize Qiu Hao will receive industry support to the value of €100,000 ($163,000) which is invaluable to an emerging designer.



INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed