A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Designer Rugs Evolve Awards 2010

The winners of the inaugural Designer Rugs Evolve Awards were announced at an invitation-only event for 150 guests at Sydney’s Sun Studios on 30 November 2010.

Designer Rugs Evolve Awards 2010


December 2nd, 2010

Guests and judges viewed the six finalists’ entries, which had been narrowed down from 850 submissions across Australia and New Zealand.

The judging panel included Sibella Court, Matthew Sheargold, Stephen Ormandy and Shareen Joel, who designed a rug for the Designer Rugs ID Collection. Designer Rugs Chairman Eli Tal and Managing Director Yosi Tal were also judges.

The major prize was shared by Gavin Harris of Futurespace, for his Squiggle It design, and Lachlan Alley of Group GSA for his Dusk design.

Gavin and Lachlan will receive return flights and accommodation to Milan to coincide with the Milan Furniture Fair, their rug and a trophy by Dinosaur Designs.

The awards ceremony also saw the presentation of the People’s Choice Award, voted for by 1500 members of the industry and general public out of a shortlist of 25.

The People’s Choice went to Jessica Graham from Base Architecture for her Tail Feather design. Jessica will receive a BeoCom 5 phone from Bang and Olufsen.

Stay tuned for the next Designer Rugs Evolve Awards in 2011!

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed