A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Future Design Classics

Victorian Award will celebrate contemporary furniture design.

Future Design Classics


March 3rd, 2009

The Cicely & Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award will kick off next week at the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV).

The award, focussing on contemporary Vitctorian design practice, is made possible by a bequest of the late Colin Rigg.

This year the award will present the state’s best contemporary furniture design welcoming the following designers: Adam Cornish, Lambie Chan, Lucas Chirnside, Matthew Harding, Cathy Jankowsky, Joseph Keenan, Simone LeAmon, Jacqueline Ying Jun Lin, Chris Connell [https://www.indesignlive.com/articles/events/heide-chair-launch], Stuart McFarlane, Ross McLeod, Drew Martin & Dale Rock (of Rock Martin), Oliver Field, and Helen Kontouris.

“The Cicely & Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award is regarded as one of the most prestigious design prizes in Australia and we remain indebted to Cicely and Colin Rigg and to the Rigg Bequest for the vision and foresight that continue to make this important event possible,” says Dr Gerard Vaughan – Director of the NGV.

Offering a prize of $30 000 to the winning entry, the award will also include an exhibition of works to run from 12 March – 30 August 2009 at the NGV Myer Fashion & Textiles Galleries, The Ian Potter Centre.

Co-curator of the exhibition, Matthew Martin says: “The 2009 exhibition seeks to familiarise the public with the vitality of the contemporary Victorian furniture design scene. Every work in this exhibition has the potential to become a ‘design classic’ of the future.”

The award will be announced next Wednesday 11 March 2009.


Hero Image:
Ross McLeod
born Australia 1960
Frequency, lounge 2008
plywood, steel, polyurethane, wool/nylon blend
71.0 x 200.0 x 60.0 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Ross McLeod



cicely rigg colin 3

Lambie Chan
born Hong Kong 1982, arrived Australia 2001
Ribbon, bench 2007
Mountain Ash (Eucalyptus regnans)
(1-2) 55.0 x 199.0 x 97.5 cm (overall)
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Lambie Chan



cicely rigg colin 4

Simone LeAmon
born Australia 1971
Maquette for Lepidoptera, chair 2008
stainless steel, polyester
15.1 x 20.1 x 19.8 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Simone LeAmon



cicely rigg colin 5

Jacqueline Ying Jun Lin
born China 1984, arrived Australia 1998
Y-knot chair 2007
fibreglass, nylon cord
92.5 x 60.0 x 97.0 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Jacqueline Ying Jun Lin



cicely rigg colin 6

Matthew Harding
born Australia 1964
Poise, chair 2007
plywood, nylon
77.0 x 62.5 x 65.5 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Matthew Harding



cicely rigg colin 7

Adam Cornish
born Australia 1981
Box and Dice, Sydney
est. 1988
Flex hammock 2008
plywood, stainless steel cable, rubber
20.0 x 216.0 x 100.0 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Adam Cornish



cicely rigg colin 8

Schiavello, Melbourne (manufacturer)
est. 1966
Helen Kontouris
born Australia 1976
101 chair 2006
fibreglass, wool, felt
81.4 x 87.5 x 77.5 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Helen Kontouris


INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed