A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Design Now! 2009 – IDL

The 18 finalists in Object’s annual Design Now! exhibition have been announced.

Design Now! 2009 – IDL


March 5th, 2009

The exhibition honours the year’s most outstanding contributions from design graduates across Australia.

Over 200 nominations were submitted; this is the largest group the exhibition has ever received.

There are six categories, aimed to capture the diversity of design. Three finalists are chosen from each category, ranging from furniture to architecture through to animation.

The exhibition has become a platform for emerging design talent to showcase their talents to a broad audience. The goal, says object, is to “nurture bold ambitions”.

The 2009 finalists are:

Design for Studio Production: Hannah Wight (University of South Australia), Amanda McKenzie (Monash University), Karla Way (RMIT University).

Design for Industry: Krista Lindegger (Swinburne University of Technology), Michael Anderson (University of Technology Sydney), Barton Smith (Monash University).

Design for the Built Environment:
Naomi Fogel (RMIT University), Anthony Hamilton-Smith (RMIT University), Alex Nicholls (University of Sydney).

Design for the Body: Hayley Barsden (Curtin University of Technology), Kim Wong (Curtin University of Technology), Harmony Lam (RMIT University).

Design for Communication: Lucy Simpson (College of Fine Arts, The University of New South Wales), Eric Ng (University of Technology Sydney), Christina Perry and Derrick Gee (University of Technology Sydney).

Design for the Home: Kali Norman (Curtin University of Technology), Renata Carmichael (University of Tasmania), James Oates (Swinburne University of Technology).

This year’s winners will be announced at the Design Now! 2009 exhibition opening, at Object Gallery in Sydney, on Friday 17 April 2009.

The exhibition will run from 18 April – 21 June 2009 at Object Gallery. It will then run from 14 August – 25 October 2009 at the Melbourne Museum.


Major Sponsor:
Living Edge


Hero Image: Kali Norman, Untitled 14 (set of 4), work courtesy of Curtin University of Technology Art Collection Photo: Christiane Keller


design now 2

Kim Wong, Three Greedy Pigs from the Bedtime Stories collection, 2008 Photo: Kim Wong





design now 14

Naomi Fogel, Sound Bubble, 2008



design now 15

James Oates, Etiquette Tea, 2008



design now 16

Krista Lindegger, BreezeWay, 2008



design now 2

Amanda McKenzie, Untitled from The Decay Of Life series, 2008



design now 3

Alex Nicholls, Maritime Museum, Cockatoo Island, 2008



design now 4

Anthony Hamilton Smith 1, Slow Kitchen, 2008 Photo: Anthony Hamilton Smith



design now 5

Barton Smith, Stream, 2008



design now 7

Harmony Lam,  pierced from the the loss.ofme collection, 2008 Photo: Jackie Adams



design now 8

Eric Ng, Scenarios of a Sustainable Future, 2008



design now 9

Hayley Barsden, A Study in Still Life, 2008 Photo courtesy the artist


INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed