A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!


The Design Museum, London, this week announced the seven category winners for the annual Designs of the Year Awards.



April 16th, 2013

These Design Museum awards celebrate the best of international design from the last 12 months. The overall winner for the Design of The Year 2013 will be announced mid April.

‘Designs of the Year is the Design Museum’s authoritative review of the most innovative, forward-thinking and culturally relevant projects from the past twelve months. The work selected demonstrates the many ways in which design can transform our physical and cultural landscape.’ explains Pete Collard, the curator of Design Museum’s Designs of the Year.

The seven category winners include a new British government website which promises to revolutionise governmental online communications, bringing together different government websites into one single site making it a much easier and user friendly service. Other winners include the renovation and re-imagining of a faded 1960’s tower block in Paris, a landmark documentary an fashion icon Diana Vreeland, a reinvention of the wheel in the form of a unique folding wheel which can be applied to bicycles and wheelchairs and a chair constructed using the latest computer technology.

** Editors Note: since this article was published, the overall winner of the Designs of the Year 2013 Award went to the Gov.uk website design by GDS.**

The Seven Category winners are:

• Architecture: TOUR BOIS-LE-PRÊTRE, PARIS – Designed by Frédéric Druot, Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal

Digital: GOV.UK WEBSITE – Designed by Government Digital Service

gov.uk website

Fashion: DIANA VREELAND: THE EYE HAS TO TRAVEL – Directed by Lisa Immordino Vreeland

diana vreeland the eye has to travel

Furniture: MEDICI CHAIR – Designed by Konstantin Grcic for Mattiazzi

medici konstantin grcic

Graphics: VENICE ARCHITECTURE BIENNALE IDENTITY – Designed by John Morgan Studio

venice bienalle

Products: KIT YAMOYO – Designed by ColaLife and PI Global

cola life transport

cola life kit parts

Transport: MORPH FOLDING WHEEL – Designed by Vitamins for Maddak Inc.

collapsing wheel vitamin

The seven winning designs will now compete for the overall Design of the Year 2013, to be announced on 16 April. The winning entries, along with all the shortlisted designs are on show at the Design Museum until 7 July.

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed