Alejandro Aravena wins 2016 Pritzker Prize

A professional resource for the design curious

Join the global
design collective

Available in print
and online.


Alejandro Aravena wins 2016 Pritzker Prize

Chilean architect Alejandro Aravena has been named the 41st recipient of the Pritzker Prize 2016. 

BY Ashley Tucker

January 18th, 2016

Aravena is known for his humanitarian design, rather than larger than life statement architecture, where he executive director of Elemental an architecture group whose mission is to tackle poverty and eliminate slums by engaging local communities in early stages of the design process. Aravena will receive a $100,000 grant at a ceremony at the United Nations Headquarters in New York, April 4. Alejandro Aravena is the curator of this year’s Venice Architecture Biennale.

2016 Pritzker Prize

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive