The home of architecture and design in Asia-Pacific

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Dezeen Awards 2019 is now open for entries

The Dezeen Awards 2019 is now open for entries. The second edition follows the successful launch last year and is set to showcase outstanding global design.

Dezeen Awards 2019 is now open for entries

Dezeen Awards 2018 winner: Small interior – The Lookout by Note Design Studio. Photo by Staffan Sundström.

The inaugural edition of Dezeen Awards attracted over 3,600 entries from all over the world with projects from 91 different countries. UK, US, China, Australia, the Netherlands, Japan, Spain, Denmark, Sweden and Canada were among some of the most successful countries, with multiple shortlisted and winning projects.

Dezeen Awards identifies the world’s best architecture, interiors and design, as well as the studios and the individual architects and designers producing the most outstanding work.

Organised by Dezeen, the world’s most popular and influential architecture and design website, Dezeen Awards is the benchmark for international design excellence and the ultimate accolade for architects and designers everywhere.

Dezeen Awards 2018 winner: Workspace Interior – Office with a Patio by Shogo Onodera and Tsukasa Okada. Photo by Gottingham.

Dezeen Awards 2018 winner: Workspace Interior – Office with a Patio by Shogo Onodera and Tsukasa Okada. Photo by Gottingham.

Dezeen Awards in 2019

In 2019 Dezeen Awards is expanding its international influence with new categories, an esteemed judging panel and a democratic entry process.

What makes Dezeen Awards different from other awards programs:

  • Low entry fees – making Dezeen Awards accessible to small businesses,
  • The judges – comprising of 75 industry-leading figures,
  • Judging criteria – with the focus on beauty, innovation but also on the efforts they make to improve the world, and
  • Judging process – rigorous and impartial, providing a democratic platform for design, architecture and interiors practitioners across the globe.

There are 30 project categories that can be entered in total: 10 each in the sectors of architecture, interiors and design. These include urban house, cultural building, small building, restaurant and bar interior, retail interior, furniture design and wearable design among others.

There are also 16 new categories this year: urban house, rural house, civic building, cultural building, apartment interior, restaurant and bar interior, hotel and short-stay interior, small workspace interior, large workspace interior, seating design, product design, sustainable design, graphic design and installation design.

There will also be six studio categories again, which will name the most outstanding established and emerging design talents. All of the categories can be viewed here.

A jury comprising of an outstanding panel of international architects, designers and academics, will judge Dezeen Awards categories. The esteemed panel includes, Ron Arad, Cristina Celestino, Frida Escobedo, Kelly Hoppen, Lyndon Neri, Marc Newson, Bibi Seck, Philippe Starck, Patricia Urquiola. You can view all of the judges here.

Entering Dezeen Awards

30 May 2019 is the final entries deadline.

Entry fees have been set as low as possible to encourage entries from every type of studio around the world. There are reduced rates for individuals and companies with ten employees or fewer.

Entry fees are as follows:

  • For individuals and companies with 10 employees or fewer: £100 per category entry
    For companies with more than 10 employees: £200 per category entry

Prices exclude VAT.


INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed