A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

Louise Olsen makes the Australian Businesswomen’s Network (ABN) 2015 Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame, which honours top female business owners, this year includes founder of Dinosaur Designs – a design industry success – Louise Olsen.

Louise Olsen makes the Australian Businesswomen’s Network (ABN) 2015 Hall of Fame


March 10th, 2015

Officially launched on Tuesday 3 March in the lead up to International Women’s Day, the Hall of Fame celebrates Australian female business owners who have been exemplary in their industries, are trailblazers and demonstrate inspiring and aspiring business journeys.

The inductees of the ABN 2015 Hall of Fame are not all high profile businesswomen. Many are emerging entrepreneurs of small businesses or champions of the community sector.

Australia is experiencing a growth in the number of female business owners. According to AWCCI research there are over 1 million businesswomen trading in Australia. This number is growing and is likely being fuelled by a favourable start-up environment. A recent Gender-Global Entrepreneur and Development Index report research states Australia was listed as the second best place in the world to be a female entrepreneur.

ABN CEO Suzi Dafnis said, “The ABN Hall of Fame is designed to inspire Australian women with stories of entrepreneurial success and notable achievements from stand out female business owners. The aim is to shine a light on female entrepreneurs, a group that is underrepresented by other awards programs.”

“The women were chosen as Hall of Fame recipients because of their exemplary achievements and because they are shining examples for women who have started or are looking to start their own business.”

Every year the Hall of Fame inductees are asked to share their business story and success secrets. These insightful tips and strategies are included in a downloadable Keepsake Booklet and share the inductees’ combined wisdom with aspiring businesswomen.

Some of this year’s keys to success include: Surrounding yourself with great people; connecting with a purpose greater than yourself; and tapping into your passion. The Keepsake Booklet can be downloaded here.

The selection of the 2015 ABN Hall of Fame inductees is a diverse cross-section of established and emerging business owners and champions of the not-for-profit sector.

The 2015 ABN Hall of Fame inductees include:
• Abigail Forsyth, KeepCup – VIC
• Audette Exel, Adara Group – NSW
Barb de Corti, ENJO – WA
• Camilla Franks, Camilla – NSW
• Cathie Reid, Epic Pharmacy – QLD
• Jean Madden, Street Swags – QLD
• Juliette Wright, GIVIT – QLD
• Kate Morris, Adore Beauty – VIC
• Kate Weiss, Table of Plenty – VIC
• Louise Olsen, Dinosaur Designs – NSW
• Mia Freedman, Mamamia – VIC
• Michelle Bridges, Michelle Bridges – NSW
• Narelle Anderson, Envirobank – NSW
• Natalie Archer, Bendelta – NSW
• Penny Spencer, Spencer Travel – NSW
• Pip Job, Little River Landcare Group Inc. – NSW
• Ulli Spranz, B.-d. Farm Paris Creek – SA
• Vanya Cullen, Cullen Wines – WA

“The Businesswomen’s Hall of Fame aims to celebrate successful female business owners through sharing their stories, to inspire and empower other female entrepreneurs,” said Ms Dafnis.

The 2015 inductees join over 180 other women the ABN has previously recognised as outstanding female business leaders. Some of these women include Maggie Beer, Liz Davenport, June Dally-Watkins, Collette Dinnigan, Lisa Curry, Naomi Simson, Lisa McGuigan, Janine Allis, Kristina Karlsson and Lorna Jane.

For more information and to learn about the 2015 ABN Hall of Fame inductees, see here.

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed