A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

2011 GOTYA Winners

The Design Institute of Australia (DIA)’s Victoria branch announced the top Victorian and Tasmanian design graduates of 2011 at the 4th annual Graduate of the Year Awards, held at Corporate Culture on Wednesday 21 March.

2011 GOTYA Winners


April 4th, 2012

GOTYA is an awards program created to support designers in the early stages of their career. It recognises excellence in the fields of graphic design, industrial design, textile design, interior design and interior decoration.

Congratulations to Dean Benstead of RMIT, who was awarded the top prize for industrial design as well as being named overall graduate of the year.

Jordon Rowe of Swinburne University of Technology took out the graphic design category. The textile category was won by Sarah Strickland of RMIT, and Frances Gaffney of Swinburne won for interior design.

High commendations were awarded in the category of interior decoration to Sean Oldfield of Box Hill Institute and Kate Pieters of RMIT.

Colourways Colour Awards, from the DIA’s colour forecasting initiative, were offered the first time this year. Winners were Tate Anson of RMIT for industrial design, Michelle Yann of the Australian Academy of Design for graphic design, Mara Kapsis of RMIT for textile design, Frances Gaffney of Swinburne for interior design and Kate Pieters of RMIT for interior design & decoration.

DIA Victoria Branch

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed