A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

A celebration of women in construction at the 2018 NAWIC Awards for Excellence

A look at the 2018 NAWIC Awards for Excellence proves that there is plenty of innovation and inspirational leadership being done by women in construction.

The NAWIC Awards have been helping to build and recognise the talent of hard-working women in the typically male-dominated construction industry.

Hosted by the National Association of Women in Construction NSW Chapter, more than 1,130 guests gathered at the International Convention Centre Sydney for the 22nd annual awards gala on Thursday 23 August.

“A sustainable and successful workforce of women in construction and property must start at the grassroots level. NAWIC’s sustained efforts have helped more women to lead, learn, collaborate, network and celebrate excellence – and as we do the depth and breadth of our female talent pool expands,” shares NAWIC NSW President Sarah Hogan. For Sarah, the awards are a clear expression of the progress being made by Australian women in construction.

Among those recognised was Sara Haslinger who was awarded the Lendlease Crystal Vision Award for Advancing the Interests of Women in the Construction Industry. “Sara was chosen from a competitive field for her work while an executive director at Infrastructure NSW,” Sarah explains.

Sara’s work has expanded the number of women appointed to major infrastructure review panels, “This not only diversified panel decision-making, but also exposed the NSW Government to dozens of senior female leaders in construction and infrastructure, and exposed talented women to new career opportunities,” says Sarah.

Sara Haslinger

The night itself was a glittering affair with journalist Jessica Rowe hosting the evening, while a performance from Dami Im wowed the crowd. 

Richard Munao, founder and managing director of Cult, donated two Pot chairs and an A222 circular coffee table by Arne Jacobsen for Fritz Hansen, with the proceeds from the auction supporting the International Women’s Day Scholarship in 2019. Cult’s donations have raised more than $80,000 for the scholarship over the last decade.

(L-R) The night's MC Jessica Rowe with NAWIC NSW Chapter President Sarah Hogan.

(L-R) The night’s MC Jessica Rowe with NAWIC NSW Chapter President Sarah Hogan.

The complete list of category winners below:

Lendlease Crystal Vision Award for Advancing the Interests of Women in the Construction Industry

Winner: Sara Haslinger of Shaw Reynolds, previously of Infrastructure NSW

Merit: Katherine Scevity & Vimala Ferrari for WINTR


Laing O’Rourke Award for Business Woman of the Year

Winner: Alison Mirams, Roberts Pizzarotti


CPB Tradesperson Scholarship

Winner: Taylor Louise Perrin, Capital Veneering

Merit: Katie Wilmshurst, FDC


CBRE University Scholarship

Merit: Elizabeth Lau, Bachelor of Construction Project Management, UTS

Winner: Erin Louise Gonthier, Master of Sustainable Built Environment, UNSW


Probuild Award for Project Manager of the Year

Winner: Emelye Coleridge, Laing O’Rourke


Procore Scholarship for Future Leader

Winner: Meisha Stevens, Wood & Grieve Engineers

Merit: Alexandra Devlin, Lendlease


Roberts Pizzarotti for Contribution to a Project’s Development

Winner: Angela Jeffery

Merit: Carley Finn, Savills Project Management


John Holland Award for Team Innovation

Winner: Kylie Cochrane and Aurecon


HASSELL Award for Innovation in Design

Winner: Elizabeth Creswell, ADCO


MPA Award for Achievement in Construction, Refurbishment and Fitout

Winner: Michele Biruski, Stockland


Acoustic Logic Award for Contribution to Sustainability

Winner: Amy Julie Hogan

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed