A professional resource for the design curious

Get the latest design news direct to your inbox!

UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards

The UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards is now open. A triennial event, 2023 marks the year for the next iteration of this program celebrating universal and inclusive design.

UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards

The Wits Rural Facility, architect Brookes Otten, photograph by Graham de Lacy.

The UIA (International Union of Architects) is a non-government federation of national architectural organisations from 115 countries and territories worldwide. It was founded in 1948 with the aim of uniting architects around the world, providing a platform for sharing knowledge, innovation and collaborative solutions, with a particular focus on sustainable development. 

The organisation is made up of five regions, a governing Council, a range of work groups and commissions, and organises triennial congresses, forums and international design competitions. The Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) is a member of the UIA in Region IV – Asia and Oceania, and has representatives on the Council, the Sustainable Development Goals Commission and various work groups, including the Architecture for All work programme with Allen Kong (global co-director) and Belinda Seale (Australian representative) currently representing the AIA.

Related: The 2023 INDE.Awards are coming!

UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards

Organised by its Architecture for All Work Programme (AfA WP), the UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards aim to raise awareness of architects’ responsibilities to design accessible and inclusive environments and promote good practice in this area. The triennial UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards is organised by the group to encourage and acknowledge exemplary building and public space design in this area and is now open to enter.

Submissions in the awards must demonstrate the highest standards of universal and inclusive design, contributing to the quality of life for all who use them. Award categories include New Buildings, Refurbished Existing including Historic Buildings, Public and Open Spaces and Research and entries are accepted from architects world-wide.

International Union of Architects

Find out more about this year’s INDE.Awards here.

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

Related Stories

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed