A professional resource for the design curious

2020 Good Design Awards open for entries

Good Design Australia is calling for Australian and international entries to the 2020 Good Design Awards. The annual Good Design Awards recognise and celebrate excellence in cutting edge design and breakthrough innovation.

2020 Good Design Awards open for entries

Celebrating the best in design and architecture across 11 main design disciplines and 28 sub-categories, including Architectural Design, Product Design, Digital Design and many more. The Good Design Awards are one of the most respected design awards in the world and have been recognising and rewarding design excellence since 1958.

The Awards are respected globally for their high standard of design evaluation with more than 50 independent design and architecture experts participating in the judging process this year.

New for 2020, the Precinct Design Category has been established to recognise and celebrate the critical role of design in the planning and development of new precincts. In particular, projects where a holistic design approach includes elements such transport, education, health and other services – all designed to improve the quality of life for people and contribute to better economic, social and environmental outcomes.


The 2020 Good Design Awards will be presented at the annual Good Design Awards Ceremony in Sydney on 9 July 2020. The Good Design Awards Ceremony is one of the most celebrated events on the international design calendar. Guests are invited to enjoy a sit-down dinner followed by the official Good Design After Party.


More commonly known as the Good Design Tick, the accolade is among the most respected and recognised international design endorsement symbols in the industry and is an international symbol of design excellence and sustainable design practice. The Good Design Tick Trademark offers companies a competitive advantage and can lead to increased sales and point of sale differentiation.


HAROLD PARK – 2019 Best in Class Winner, Architectural Design – Commercial and Residential

This project reimagined urban life for residents while unlocking a new green village heart for Sydney’s Inner West community. Seven innovative new residential buildings sit harmoniously in the landscape, anchored by adaptive re-use of the heritage tram depot integrated with 3.8 hectares of new public parkland.

EARTH FRIENDLY PLUNGE POOL – 2019 Best in Class Winner, Product Design – Hardware and Building

This sustainable swimming pool combines beautiful design with world-class technology to create the future of swimming pool construction. Designed as the sustainable swimming pool, the pool uses an Earth Friendly Geo Polymer Concrete in a world first to achieve a >90 per cent reduction in emissions over traditional pools.

SWAY LAMP – 2019 Best in Class Winner, Product Design – Furniture and Lighting

Designed by Nick Rennie and Made by Pen, SWAY is a totally new concept in floor lamp design. The playful light is not tethered to any power cable or outlet. It is completely free to move about and for the user to interact with it anywhere, including outdoors.



  • Submit your entry online before 27 March 2020.



  • 27 March 2020 – 2020 Entries Deadline
  • 11-14 May 2020 – Judging Week (Sydney)
  • 22 May 2020 – Successful Entries Notified
  • 9 July 2020 – Good Design Awards Ceremony (Sydney)






For more information visit www.good-design.org or get in touch with the team on mail@good-design.org.

INDESIGN is on instagram

Follow @indesignlive

The Indesign Collection

A searchable and comprehensive guide for specifying leading products and their suppliers

Indesign Our Partners

Keep up to date with the latest and greatest from our industry BFF's!

While you were sleeping

The internet never sleeps! Here's the stuff you might have missed